New Crafts: a Lucet and needle felting

When I went to the New England Fiber Fest a couple weekends ago, I finally bought myself a Lucet. It is made of Purple Heart wood. I’ve been wanting something in this wood for awhile and I found it in something I wanted, so it was a double win. This one was made by Stephen Willette. I also bought yarn bowl and naalbinding needle from him.

IMG_0415

If you don’t know what they are, a Lucet is used to make braided cords which can be used for anything. I have various things I can use cord for so it was a good purchase for me. So far I have made a thick cord using some of my handspun yarn. I have not finished with it yet. I will be sewing it into either a large potholder or a small basket. Here is what I have so far.

IMG_0417

I also have more cord that I am still working on for another project, but I have quiet a ways to go with that. No pictures of that yet.

I am really enjoying finding new crafts that I can do that incorporate crafts that I already do. Speaking of which, I have also tried needle felting again. Unlike my first attempt which didn’t go too well (I tried making a 3d object) this time I tried making a picture. I bought a kit the same day I got the Lucet, also at NEFF.  I had to go for the dragon when I saw it.

IMG_0421

I had a lot of fun doing this. It is something easy to do and does not require too much focus, other than making sure you don’t stab yourself with the very sharp needles. Since I spin yarn, I already have plenty of wool floating around and I had needles already from when I tried felting before. So this is a craft I can do and it won’t really cost me anything extra. I did buy some regular felt to use as bases, but that stuff is super cheap so still a great additional craft to do.

I think I have a crafting problem, but I don’t want to stop!

Leave a Reply

