Miniature Books – Mini tutorial

After seeing lots of cute books made by people on a few of the forums I belong to, I decided that I would try and make some for myself. I took pictures along the way to show how I did it for anyone that is curious and wants to try and make some as well.

What I used:
Index cards
Fancy papers, origami paper and scrapbook paper for covers
Cardboard for covers
Watercolor and acrylic paint
Modge Podge
Elmers Glue

1) The first thing I did was to fold all of the index cards in half, then put them into groups of ten. You can use more if you want thicker books.
100_0149

2) Using some scrap cardboard, I cut out pieces that were a tad bigger than the folded pages to use as covers. I also did thin strips for the spines, though not all of them had hard spines.
100_0150

3)Putting the groups of pages at the edge of my desk, I then used a heavy book to weigh them down. I used many coats of Elmers Glue along the folded edge to hold the pages together. You want this to be thick, so you have to wait for the glue to dry in between coats or the pages will come apart.
NOTE: If you don’t want blank pages, decorate them how you would like and make sure they are dry before you put them together. If you wait until the book is all bound up, some pages may stick together if you use glue on them.
100_0150

4) I did not want all of my books to be blank, so I painted some of the pages with watercolor and acrylic paint to make them interesting. You can also use pictures or text; really whatever you want to be in the books.
100_0161
100_0162

5) Using a bit heavier paper (old report covers in this case) I made inside covers. You want these to be slightly wider than your pages, but the same height. This way, when you fold the paper around the glued pages, the extra length will reach all the way around to the edges. To attach this to the pages, put more glue on the already glued part of pages (the spine) and stick it to the cover. Do not put glue on other parts of the page! Spine only!
100_0154

Looks like I forgot to take a picture of the next two parts. I’ll try and do that later and update this post. There are two ways to do this:

6a)Soft spine – Using the paper of your choice, glue the paper to the cardboard cover pieces using Modge Podge and let dry. Once done, you are going to attach the cover to the inside cover pages (the black paper in my pictures). Put glue on the front page and back page of the inside over only, not the spine, then wrap the hard outside cover around that. Put it under some weights to keep it all held together while it dries. Then you are finished.

6b) Hard spine – This is done mostly the same as above. First lay out your cover paper, right side down. Put the cardboard cover and back pieces on the paper, then you want to add the small strip of cardboard between them for the spine. Do not have the cardboard pieces touching. There needs to be a small gap between the spine and front and back parts so the cover can close. The rest of the steps are the same as above.

7) Admire work! Once everything is dry, you should have some nice little books. Here are the ones that I made. A combination of soft and hard spines.
100_0164
100_0167
100_0202

I also made a mini bookshelf for them to go on. It is not finished yet, though.
100_0197

 

This is my first time doing a tutorial so I apologize if some things were hard to understand. I will get the pictures up for the cover steps as soon as I can!  Please let me know if you have questions, and if you make any, show me! :D

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anastasiamw
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 16:02:32

    I love these! What a great project! I could see this being a great way to create a pocket-sized sketchbook.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

