Handmade doll sandals

I’ve been wanting to try and make a lot of clothes and things for my dolls instead of buying them to save money. The other day I decided I was going to try and make my newest boy, Kashmir, a pair of sandals. He is a prince in a desert setting and so I thought they’d be more appropriate (not to mention easier) than shoes or boots.

I used leather, felt, foam board and hot glue to make these. They were pretty easy to do, but the cord I used for lacing is a bit stiffer than I would have liked so they fall down a bit.

IMG_0048

I think they came out pretty good for a first attempt! I didn’t use any patterns either. I just traced around my dolls foot and went at it.

On another note I have been doing a little weaving experiment. I don’t know what exactly I’m making, but I’m having fun and getting the hang of it. I think I’m getting closer to ordering a Cricket! :D

weaving on a clipboard

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laelen
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 15:41:16

    Those shoes look gorgeous! @^@ Wow, they’re only your first try? Impressive!

    Reply

    • LuckyXIIICreations
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 12:29:05

      I was trying my best to make them perfect on my first go, lol…especially since I did not do a mock up first and was using the leather. I’m just glad it worked out, even if I do have plenty of the leather left!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

